CERTIFICATION California RBS Alcohol Certification is valid for 3 years.
AGE TO CONSUME 21
AGE TO POUR 21
AGE TO SELL The minimum age for serving alcoholic beverages is 21, except any person between 18 and 21 years of age employed in any bona fide public eating place, which is licensed for the on-sale of alcoholic beverages, may serve alcoholic beverages to consumers only if such service occurs in an area primarily designed and used for the sale and service of food for consumption on the premises, and the primary duties of the employee shall be the service of meals to guests, with the service of alcoholic beverages being incidental to such duties.
All hotel/motel/etc. employees handling the alcoholic beverages to be placed in the controlled access alcoholic beverage cabinet in any guestroom, including, but not limited to, any employee who inventories or restocks and replenishes the alcoholic beverages in the controlled access alcoholic beverage cabinet, must be at least 21 years of age.
AGE TO SERVE 21 (Note: If incidental to food service, an employee who is at least 18-years-old may serve alcohol)
DRAM SHOP LIABILITY LAW No, except when alcohol is served, sold, or otherwise provided to an obviously intoxicated minor. In such a case, the server, seller, or provider may be held liable for damages.
CARDING REQUIREMENTS On-premises establishments do not have mandatory carding policy; however it is against the law to serve anyone under the age of 21
Off-Premises establishments must card everyone. This includes grocery stores, package stores, and convenience stores. The ID can't be expired. An exemption is made for those obviously over the age of 50.
ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF ID
Valid U.S. State Driver’s License
Valid U.S. State or Federal Government issued Identification.
Valid U.S. Passport and/or Passport Card
Valid Military ID issued by the U.S. Department of Defense
Valid Foreign Passport
Note: In the event an Armed Forces identification card, Passport or Passport Card is provided as proof of identity and lacks a physical description, but does include date of birth and a photo, further proof of identity shall not be required.
Green cards and International Driver's Licenses are NOT acceptable forms of ID.
IDs and Legal Defense: According to business and professions code 25660; the ABC recommends that licensees accept only “Bona Fide” identification which are currently valid, issued by a Government Agency, and contain the following 6 needed pieces of personal information for legal defense:
- Name of Person
- Physical Description
- Date of Birth
- Issued by a Governmental Agency
- Must be Valid. Expired IDs are not acceptable.
Relying on identification using these 6 elements provides a legal defense to a violation of California Code Section 25658. For additional information see Sections 25668-25660 of the B&P Code
California Beverage Control State Approved RBS Training
REGISTER WITH THE CALIFORNIA ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL
Register with the ABC here abcbiz.abc.ca.gov, You will need an email address and pay a $3.00 fee to receive your CA ABC 9 Digit Server ID#.
COMPLETE RBS TRAINING COURSE WITH RBS FAST
Return to www.rbsfast.com to begin RBS Training. Simply complete the course at your own pace.
Please Note: RBS Fast will need your Server ID number to submit your training completion to California ABC for you to be able to complete the required exam.
COMPLETE CALIFORNIA RBS STATE EXAM
Return to abcbiz.abc.ca.gov to complete the OPEN BOOK RBS Certification Exam. RBS Fast will report your completed training within 24 hours to the California Alcohol Beverage Control. You will have 30 days to complete the exam.